While A-1's try is in flight, A-2 fouls B-2, and the try is successful. Team B is not in the bonus. Is the official's ruling of a designated spot throw-in correct?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In this scenario, the correct determination is that the official's ruling of a designated spot throw-in is not correct because of the specific circumstances surrounding fouls occurring during attempts and the concept of team control.

When a player from Team A attempts a shot (A-1's try) and the attempt is successful, the resulting score should be recognized. However, the foul committed by A-2 during the flight of the ball shifts the focus. Since the attempt was successful, the letter of the law that governs such situations indicates that the foul by A-2 is considered a dead-ball foul, which means that the play is stopped to address the foul.

In this case, because Team B is not in the bonus, they do not get free throws. Consequently, once the foul is recognized and noted, the proper administration of the game comes into play. Since no free throw is awarded to Team B and the shot by A-1 counts, a designated spot throw-in is warranted for Team B where the foul occurred. Therefore, a team's shot success and foul situations dictate that continuity of play is also considered.

Understanding these rules helps clarify the official's actions and ensures that the game is administered correctly following the prescribed regulations of basketball officiating.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy