International Association of Approved Basketball Officials (IAABO) Practice Test

Question: 1 / 400

If the scorer reports that team B has made ten fouls after A-1's free throws, what must the official do?

The official must resume play with an immediate throw-in

The second free throw is canceled, and play resumes with the alternating possession

When a scorer reports that a team has accumulated a certain number of fouls, it can impact the free throw situation significantly. In this case, after A-1's free throws, the official must recognize the implications of team B being in the bonus situation due to the ten fouls.

With teams typically entering the bonus after five team fouls in a half, any free throws taken in this context might be affected if the reporting of fouls is inaccurate or if the situation alters during the play. When the scorer indicates that team B has reached ten fouls, it triggers a situation where team A should be awarded more free throws rather than just resuming normal gameplay.

In engaging with the scenario where the second free throw is canceled, it aligns with the rules stating that if the situation changes notably due to foul counts (like crossing into double bonus territory), the appropriate action is to halt the normal progression of the game for a resolution of the situation rather than allowing standard play to resume. Therefore, play must resume not with A-1’s second attempt, but instead with the opposing team’s possession, recognizing the alteration the foul count necessitates.

Get further explanation with Examzify DeepDiveBeta

The last free throw should stand because it was made

Free throws should only be canceled if the game isn't restarted

Next Question

Report this question

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy