While A-1 is dribbling, teammate A-2 commits a common foul on B-2. Is this ruled as a player control foul?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When A-1 is dribbling and teammate A-2 commits a common foul on B-2, this situation is not ruled as a player control foul. The key reason is that player control fouls are committed by a player who has legal possession of the ball, or is in the act of shooting. In this scenario, A-1 is the one controlling the ball, but the foul is committed by A-2 without A-1 being involved in the foul directly.

When a teammate not in possession of the ball commits a foul, it is considered a team foul rather than a player control foul, since player control refers specifically to actions taken by a ball handler. This distinction is important for determining the repercussions of the foul, including free throw situations and team fouls accumulated during the game. Hence, the correct ruling is that it is not classified as a player control foul.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy