When the ball touches B-1's foot and A-1 recovers for another dribble, is the ruling of an illegal dribble correct?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The ruling on whether A-1's recovery of the ball after it touches B-1's foot constitutes an illegal dribble is nuanced. In this scenario, since the ball first touches B-1's foot, it is considered a deflection rather than a possession change or an instance of A-1 losing control. According to basketball rules, when a player recovers a ball that has been deflected off another player (in this case, B-1), that player is permitted to continue dribbling.

Thus, when A-1 recovers the ball after it touches B-1's foot, A-1 is still considered to be in a legal position to dribble again. The key rule at play here is that a player is allowed to regain control of the ball after it has been deflected. Therefore, the recovery does not result in an illegal dribble, making the answer correct. It's important in officiating to understand the distinction between a complete loss of possession and a mere deflection. This understanding ensures accurate rulings during the game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy