When can a referee stop play to correct a timing error?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

A referee can stop play to correct a timing error if they have definitive knowledge of the mistake involved. This situation typically arises when the officials are aware that the game clock did not appropriately reflect the time due to an error during play. The understanding of “definitive knowledge” is crucial; it implies that the referee must have clear and solid evidence of the timing mistake, such as observable events on the court or reliable communication with the scorers' table.

This aligns with the principles of ensuring fair play and accuracy in the game, allowing officials to maintain the integrity of the timing system. The rationale for prioritizing definitive knowledge is to prevent unnecessary disruptions to the flow of the game based on speculation or unclear observations. In contrast, other options do not meet the standard necessary for correcting timing errors. For example, stopping play solely because the game clock has not started or because it is a timeout does not address an actual mistake and would not be justifiable without clear evidence.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy