When B-1 catches a throw-in with one foot in-bounds and one foot out-of-bounds, is the official correct to award the ball back to Team A?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the scenario where B-1 catches a throw-in with one foot in-bounds and one foot out-of-bounds, the official is correct to call the ball dead and award it back to Team A. This is because a player must have both feet in-bounds when gaining possession of the ball for it to be considered a valid catch. If any part of the player is out-of-bounds at the time they secure possession, the play is considered a violation, and consequently, the ball becomes dead.

This rule is in place to ensure that players establish proper in-bounds status before they can participate in the play. The fact that one foot is out-of-bounds means that the player is not considered legally on the court when making the catch. The play stops, and Team A is awarded the ball, needing to take another throw-in to resume the game.

The other options do not accurately reflect the rules governing in-bounds play: just having one foot in-bounds does not equate to a legal catch; waiting for the ball to touch the floor does not contribute to the legality of the play; and allowing the play to continue contradicts the rule regarding player positioning at the time of possession.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy