When a technical foul is assessed before the game, is it correct for the official to set the possession arrow towards Team A's basket?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a technical foul is assessed before the game, the proper procedure does not involve setting the possession arrow towards Team A's basket. Instead, the possession arrow should be set to indicate the direction for the first possession of the game based on the rules governing the arrow. Normally, the possession arrow starts towards the team that does not have the initial possession, unless otherwise specified by the circumstances of the game or specific tournament rules.

In the case of a technical foul occurring before the game, it does not automatically grant either team the right to dictate where the possession arrow points; rather, the arrow is set according to regular game protocol. Therefore, stating that the official should set the arrow towards Team A's basket following a technical foul would not align with standard officiating practices. This reinforces the importance of understanding the structures and protocols that govern game procedures which help maintain clarity and fairness throughout the match.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy