When a player is wrongly awarded a one-and-one but the error is noticed after the second free throw, what is the outcome?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a player is wrongly awarded a one-and-one scenario, and the error is identified only after the second free throw has been taken, the appropriate action is to nullify the free throws and award Team A a throw-in. This approach is consistent with the principles of officiating, where errors must be rectified when they are recognized, but the natural flow of the game cannot merely continue as though the mistake didn’t occur.

In this instance, by nullifying the free throws, the officials effectively cancel out the incorrect award, ensuring that neither team is unfairly advantaged or disadvantaged due to the mistake. Awarding a throw-in to Team A allows them to regain possession without further complicating the situation, thus maintaining fairness and proper game conduct.

The alternatives, such as ignoring the original foul or accepting the free throws if the player was in the bonus, would not align with the established rules and procedures governing how errors in free throw assignments are managed in basketball officiating. Similarly, resetting the game to a previous time would disrupt the flow of play considerably and would not reflect the best practices of officiating.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy