When a player catches a throw-in with one foot in the frontcourt and steps back with the other foot, what should the official rule?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a player catches a throw-in while having one foot in the frontcourt and then steps back with the other foot, this action results in a backcourt violation. The rules stipulate that when a team's player receives the ball in the frontcourt, that team must establish possession in that area. If any part of the player returns to the backcourt after possession is established, it constitutes a violation.

The key aspect here is that possession was gained in the frontcourt when the player caught the throw-in. By stepping back with the other foot, the player effectively moved into the backcourt, violating the rule that prohibits crossing back over the midcourt line after establishing possession. Thus, the official should correctly call a backcourt violation in this scenario. This maintains the integrity of the game and ensures that teams do not gain an unfair advantage by moving backward after receiving the ball in their frontcourt.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy