When A-6 legally enters the game replacing A-5, what happens to A-5?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When A-6 legally enters the game to replace A-5, A-5 transitions from being an active player on the court to becoming bench personnel. This change signifies that A-5 is no longer participating in the game and must remain on the bench unless re-entered according to the rules. Once a player substitutes out, they are not considered active until they re-enter during a subsequent stoppage of play.

In this context, it is important to note that while bench personnel can await their turn to re-enter the game, they cannot participate until the referee grants permission for re-entry. This is aligned with the rules governing substitutions, ensuring that the game progresses with clear delineation between those on the court and those awaiting further participation.

The option stating that A-5 remains a player is incorrect because once a substitution occurs, the outgoing player no longer has any standing in the game until they are called back in. The option indicating that A-5 can still re-enter the game acknowledges the potential for re-entry but does not accurately define A-5's status immediately following the substitution. Lastly, A-5 being disqualified is not relevant in this scenario, as there is no indication of any misconduct or violation that would warrant disqualification; thus

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy