When A-2 fouls B-2 while A-1 is dribbling, is it correct to rule it as a player control foul?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the scenario presented, when A-2 fouls B-2 while A-1 is dribbling, the correct ruling is that it should be treated as a team control foul. A crucial aspect of understanding fouls in basketball is distinguishing between player control fouls and team control fouls.

A team control foul occurs when the offense is in control of the ball, but since A-1 is the player dribbling, team control is established with team A. However, because the foul occurs when a player (A-2) from the offensive team makes illegal contact with a defensive player (B-2), it does not qualify as a player control foul.

Player control fouls are specifically those committed by a player in control of the ball while not dribbling, or when the player is not in the act of shooting. In contrast, in the situation described, the contact is between A-2 and B-2 while A-1 is in the process of dribbling, which highlights that A-2's action does not negate the team offensive control being held by A.

Therefore, the classification hinges on the concept that no player control foul is involved in that exchange as A-1 remains in control through drib

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy