When A-1's throw-in is batted back to A-1 while still out of bounds, who is awarded the possession of the ball?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a player from Team A (A-1) is making a throw-in and the same player (A-1) bats the ball back to themselves while still out of bounds, the rules dictate that this action constitutes a violation. The ball is deemed to be dead once it is batted back to A-1, and as a result, possession is awarded to Team B. This reflects the principle that a player cannot be in possession of the ball while they are out of bounds. By following this rule, officials help maintain the flow of the game and ensure that team possession is managed fairly. Therefore, Team B is awarded the ball in this scenario.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy