When A-1, the thrower-in, breaks the plane of the boundary with the ball and B-1 slaps it out of A-1's hands, is it correct for the official to call a technical foul on B-1?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the scenario presented, A-1, who is designated as the thrower-in, breaks the plane of the boundary while in the process of throwing the ball into play. When B-1 slaps the ball out of A-1's hands, it is important to note that the action of B-1 does not constitute a technical foul.

The reason the correct response is that it is not appropriate to call a technical foul on B-1 is rooted in the nature of the throw-in rules. When A-1 is in the act of throwing in the ball, the opposing team is allowed to legally challenge the throw-in as long as they do not violate any specific rules concerning personal fouls or violation of the throw-in process itself. B-1's action of slapping the ball can be viewed as an attempt to regain possession or disrupt the opponent's play, which is part of the dynamics of basketball.

This situation is a clear case of a defensive player trying to interfere with the play as A-1 attempts the throw-in, and while it may be deemed unsportsmanlike if done excessively or with malice, it does not automatically attribute a technical foul to B-1. Thus, the official should not call a technical

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy