When A-1 shoots a hook shot while pivoting behind the 3pt arc, is the official correct to rule this a 2-pt goal?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In basketball, the scoring value of a shot depends on the player's location on the court at the time of the shot. When A-1 shoots a hook shot while pivoting behind the three-point arc, their position relative to that arc determines the points awarded. If A-1 is entirely behind the arc when taking the shot, the shot indeed counts as a 3-point attempt. This is rooted in the established rules that clearly indicate that any shot taken from behind the three-point line is worth three points, provided the player is not touching the line or out of bounds at the time of the attempt.

It's crucial to understand that simply pivoting does not negate the value of the potential points, as long as A-1's body is fully behind the arc. If the official has ruled this attempt as a 2-point goal, it indicates a misunderstanding of the positioning relative to the three-point line. The other options also reflect misunderstandings: not counting the shot correctly when the player is clearly in position to score three points would lead to an incorrect assessment of the game situation.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy