When A-1 lifts the foot inside the arc to pivot and shoots while behind the arc, how should the official rule?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In this scenario, when A-1 lifts the foot inside the arc to pivot, it indicates that A-1 is attempting to establish a pivot foot, which is a critical part of the traveling rule. If A-1 then proceeds to shoot while standing behind the arc, it suggests that the player did not have a legally established pivot foot when initiating the shot. According to the rules of basketball, specifically regarding traveling violations, if a player lifts their pivot foot before releasing the ball for a shot, it is considered a traveling violation unless they dribble the ball first.

Since A-1 did not properly execute the shot and lifted the pivot foot before taking the shot, the event should be ruled as no shot attempted. This highlights that, in this context, a valid shot cannot be recognized due to the violation of the traveling rules. Thus, the correct ruling is that it is considered no shot attempted, emphasizing the importance of following correct footwork in basketball to maintain the legality of plays.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy