What must an official do when a player fouls another player before the bonus is reached but is incorrectly awarded free throws?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When an official observes a player fouling another player before the bonus situation is reached, the correct procedure involves addressing the mistake of incorrectly awarding free throws. The rules mandate that if the free throws were awarded in error, they must be canceled immediately upon recognition of the mistake. This action is crucial to maintaining the integrity of the game and ensuring that the rules are applied correctly.

The reasoning behind this is rooted in the proper enforcement of fouls and free throw situations. The game operates under specific conditions that dictate when free throws are to be awarded, such as the foul count of the team. If a player is fouled without having reached the bonus, giving free throws would not align with the established rules, which is why it is essential to rectify the situation as soon as it is recognized.

In contrast, allowing the free throws to stand if they were successful would undermine the fairness of the game, as it grants an incorrect advantage based on a mistake. Changing possession without penalizing either team does not correct the situation or maintain proper flow within the game. Lastly, enforcing a technical foul would not be appropriate in this scenario, as the mistake pertains to the application of free throw regulations rather than player conduct. Thus, canceling the free throws is the only

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy