What is the ruling when A-1 intentionally shoves B-1 while holding the ball?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When A-1 intentionally shoves B-1 while holding the ball, the correct ruling is that it results in a player control foul. This is because a player control foul is called when a player with the ball commits a personal foul, specifically through actions that adversely affect an opponent's ability to play, like shoving. In this situation, A-1's action is not an attempt to play the ball but rather an aggressive act directed at B-1, which justifies the foul call.

The concept of player control is focused on the interaction between the player holding the ball and the opponents, and in this case, A-1's intent to shove indicates a clear violation of sportsmanship and rules of fair play. Recognizing this as a player control foul helps officials maintain the integrity of the game and enforce the rules that promote safety and sportsmanship on the court.

In contrast, a team control foul would imply a situation where the team, rather than an individual player, commits a violation, often related to the team losing possession without the ball being in play. Allowing play to continue would be inappropriate here due to the clear foul. A technical foul typically involves unsportsmanlike conduct or violations unrelated to the play and does not apply

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy