What is the ruling when an official erroneously awards Team A the ball out of bounds after a foul while Team A is in the bonus?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When an official erroneously awards Team A the ball out of bounds after a foul while Team A is in the bonus, the accurate ruling is that the official must correct the mistake before the next live ball. This is because the original decision does not align with the proper handling of the situation where Team A is in the bonus and should be granted free throws instead of possession of the ball.

It is crucial for officials to ensure that any mistakes made during the game, especially concerning the handling of penalties and fouls, are rectified promptly. If the error is identified before the next live ball occurs, officials have the opportunity to correct the ruling without disrupting the flow of the game significantly. This helps maintain fairness and uphold the integrity of the game.

In this case, assuming Team A is in the bonus means they are entitled to free throws for fouls committed against them, and the correction should lead to Team A being awarded those free throws rather than a throw-in.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy