What is the ruling if a player lifts their foot off the boundary line before contact is made during a player control foul?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the scenario where a player lifts their foot off the boundary line before contact is made during a player control foul, the ruling is that the foul is on the offensive player. This is grounded in the understanding of player control fouls, which are typically called when an offensive player initiates illegal contact with a defender while in control of the ball.

The fact that the player lifted their foot off the boundary line indicates they are no longer grounded in bounds and thus can be deemed to have lost their position as a legal player. The foul occurs because the offensive player is responsible for the contact, regardless of their foot positioning at that moment.

Additionally, since the player control foul is committed while the offensive player is still inbounds when initiating the contact, it solidifies the call against them as the offender. The player has to maintain legal positioning and conduct to avoid being penalized for the foul. Understanding the context of player control fouls and boundary line rules is crucial for correctly interpreting this situation in a game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy