What is the result if a player has one foot in the backcourt and the ball is in the frontcourt?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a player has one foot in the backcourt and the ball is in the frontcourt, the proper ruling is that the ten-second count should continue. This situation indicates that the player is in a legal position to play the ball. As long as the player does not establish both feet in the frontcourt or return the ball to the backcourt, the ten-second count—used to ensure that the team advances the ball over half court within the allotted time—remains in effect.

Players are allowed to have one foot in the backcourt while the ball is in the frontcourt, which does not constitute a violation. Thus, the count's continuity is crucial as it emphasizes the need for the offensive team to move the ball across half court in a timely manner. If the player were to move back into the backcourt while still in possession of the ball, that could trigger a different set of rules, including potential violations.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy