What is the result if A-1's shot is attempted after time has expired?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When A-1 attempts a shot after time has expired, the shot is considered an attempt that occurs after the game clock has reached zero. According to the rules of basketball, if the shot is taken after the official game time has elapsed, it does not count, regardless of whether the ball goes through the hoop or not. This is because any scoring attempt made after the regulation time cannot influence the game's outcome.

In this situation, the shot would be ruled a miss automatically, as the attempt is invalid due to the fact that time has run out. Therefore, it is clear why the correct result is that the shot is ruled a miss, ensuring that the integrity of the game clock and the rules surrounding the conclusion of periods are upheld.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy