What is the correct action if the timer sounds a warning horn just before a time-out ends and A-6 reports to enter the game?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When the timer sounds a warning horn just before a time-out ends, it indicates that the time-out is about to conclude. In this situation, player A-6 must wait for the official to signal the end of the time-out before he is allowed to enter the game. Therefore, the correct action is to deny A-6's entry at that moment.

The rationale behind this rule is to ensure that player substitutions occur in an orderly manner, adhering to the time constraints set by the game. Allowing A-6 to enter while the time-out is still technically in effect could lead to confusion during the transition back to play, impacting game flow and the timing of the match. Thus, the official must not permit A-6's entry until it is appropriate to do so, which is when the time-out officially concludes and play is ready to resume.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy