What happens if A-1 is fouled while shooting but continues the motion to score?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a player is fouled while attempting a shot but successfully scores despite the foul, the basket does not count in this scenario. The rule governing this situation stipulates that the foul takes precedence over the successful scoring attempt. Therefore, the proper course of action is to cancel the basket and assess the foul against the player who committed it. This is done to maintain fairness in the game, ensuring that a player who is fouled while attempting to score does not benefit from the action resulting from the foul.

In essence, although A-1 manages to score in the midst of a foul, the integrity of the foul and its impact on the game's flow necessitate that the basket is negated, and the offending player is penalized for their action. This rule helps uphold a level of accountability in player conduct during the game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy