Should the official begin the ten-second count when A-1 regains control of the ball in the backcourt after it was deflected there by B-1?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The premise of this question relates to the rules governing ball control in basketball, particularly concerning the ten-second backcourt count. According to the rules, the ten-second count is initiated when the offensive team has established control of the ball in their backcourt and is subject to that count as long as they are attempting to advance the ball into their frontcourt.

When A-1 regains control of the ball after it was deflected by B-1, it is crucial to understand that the defensive team (B) played a role in the ball's location. Since the ball was previously in a state of play that involved the defensive team's action, the official does not begin the ten-second count immediately upon A-1 regaining control. This allows for a fair chance for the offensive team to set up their offensive play without the pressure of an immediate count.

Beginning the count under these circumstances would be premature, as it does not reflect the intent of the rules, which aim to facilitate a smooth and fair pace of the game for the offensive team, especially after a defensive player's contact has altered play. The emphasis is on giving the offensive team adequate time to transition the ball forward without undue pressure from the defensive actions leading to the ball remaining in the backcourt.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy