Is the official correct when notifying the coach about A-1's disqualification and starting the 20-second clock?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The official is correct in notifying the coach about A-1's disqualification and starting the 20-second clock because it aligns with the rules governing player disqualification in basketball. When a player is disqualified, it is essential for officials to communicate this immediately to the coach to ensure the team is aware of the change in personnel. The 20-second clock is initiated as part of the process to allow the team adequate time to substitute for the disqualified player or to prepare for the upcoming play. This ensures that the game can resume in an orderly fashion and that the teams are informed of critical changes that may impact their strategies.

In various scenarios regarding disqualification, the timing of the notification and the activation of the 20-second clock remains consistent, reinforcing the importance of clear communication from officials to coaches throughout the game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy