Is the official correct to award Team B the privilege of moving along the end line after a deflected throw-in by Team A?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The correct answer indicates that Team B does not get the privilege of moving along the end line after a deflected throw-in by Team A because the rule states that the scoring team must commit a violation for that privilege to be granted. In basketball rules, a throw-in is a method to put the ball back into play from out of bounds, and certain privileges are typically given based on the circumstances of the play.

When Team A executes a throw-in, if the ball is deflected by a defensive player, it does not count as a violation on the part of Team A that would allow Team B to benefit by gaining the ability to advance their position along the end line. The action of merely deflecting the ball does not trigger a scenario that allows Team B new privileges, as the original throw-in was not disrupted by a violation—rather, it was still deemed legal.

This aligns with standard basketball regulations, where privileges after a throw-in can significantly affect the strategy and flow of the game. Understanding these nuances is crucial for officials and players alike, as it helps ensure the proper enforcement of the rules during gameplay.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy