Is the official correct in ruling a team control foul during a throw-in when Team B is in the bonus and a common foul is committed by Team A?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In basketball, a team control foul is committed when the offensive team is in possession of the ball, and a defensive player commits a foul against them. During a throw-in situation, the ball is not considered to be in play yet, which means there is technically no team control for either team.

However, if the official rules a team control foul during the throw-in, it is important to understand the implications in relation to fouls and free throws. Team B, being in the bonus, means that they are entitled to free throws for any common fouls committed by Team A once the ball is in play. Yet during the throw-in, a team control foul would not allow Team B to benefit from being in the bonus immediately. Instead, the game would maintain the status quo, with Team A retaining possession.

In this context, the ruling of a team control foul during a throw-in is correct. It signifies that no immediate free throw opportunity arises from the foul committed by Team A, because the nature of the situation does not provide for team control during the throw-in. Thus, the official's ruling aligns with the rules of basketball governing such circumstances.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy