Is the official correct in ruling that A-1 was fouled in the act of shooting prior to A-1 returning to the floor?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The official's ruling that A-1 was fouled in the act of shooting is correct because the determination of a shooting foul relies on the player’s intent to complete a shooting motion, regardless of their position on the floor at the moment the contact occurred. If A-1 was in the process of executing a shot and was fouled before landing, the act of shooting is considered ongoing until they fully return to the ground. The rule focuses on whether the player was in the shooting motion at the time of the foul, rather than strictly their elevation or position when the contact was made. This understanding reinforces why recognizing shooting fouls can sometimes involve judgment calls regarding the timing and nature of the shot attempt.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy