Is the official correct in awarding the ball back to team A after a common foul by B-2 during team A's alternating possession?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The official is correct in awarding the ball back to team A after a common foul by B-2 during team A's alternating possession because the rule regarding alternating possession takes precedence in this situation. In a case of a common foul occurring when a team has the alternating possession of the ball, the team that is awarded the possession at the next jump ball retains the possession even after a foul has been committed by the opposing team. Since team A had alternating possession, the foul by B-2 does not change the fact that team A maintains their right to the next possession.

This ruling follows the guidelines set out for handling alternating possessions in basketball, ensuring that fairness is maintained in awarding the ball, especially in scenarios where a foul has been committed.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy