Is it permissible for A-6 to replace a designated starter to attempt free throws after team B is charged with a technical foul?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In basketball, when a technical foul is assessed against a team, the opposing team is awarded free throw attempts. The rules allow for certain substitutions to be made in this scenario.

If a designated starter, such as A-6 in this case, is available to replace another player to attempt the free throws, this is permissible under the rules governing technical fouls. The primary purpose of this rule is to ensure that the team has the opportunity to send in a player who they believe might be more capable of successfully converting the free throws.

This flexibility is designed to maintain fairness and uphold the strategic aspects of the game, allowing teams to make decisions about player matchups and performance. Therefore, it is entirely within the rules for A-6 to come in and replace a designated starter for this specific purpose after team B receives a technical foul.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy