Is it correct for the official to charge Team A with a timeout after determining there was no mistake in timing?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When an official assesses that there was no mistake in timing, it is appropriate to charge Team A with a timeout if they requested one. This aligns with the rules surrounding timeouts, which stipulate that a team can request a timeout during a stoppage in play.

Charging the timeout signifies that Team A has initiated the request and that the timing of the game has progressed accurately according to the rules. This reinforces the authority of the officials in managing game time and ensuring that all stops in play are correctly logged for the teams involved. In this scenario, the official is upholding the rules by honoring Team A's request for a timeout despite confirming the timing was accurate. Thus, the option that affirms this action is correct based on the established guidelines for officiating basketball games.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy