Is it correct for the official to start the fourth quarter with Team B shooting a technical foul if A-2 received the foul while the ball was in flight and time expired?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The reason why the correct answer is that the quarter ends upon expiration, regardless of fouls, lies in the fundamental rules governing the timing and conclusion of basketball quarters. In basketball, when the official's timer indicates that time has expired for the quarter, the game clock stops, and all gameplay pauses. It is key to understand that any fouls that occur after the expiration of time do not alter the conclusion of that period.

In this case, even if A-2 committed a foul while the ball was in flight just before the quarter ended, the timing rules dictate that the quarter has officially concluded when the clock hits zero. Therefore, Team B would not be granted an opportunity to shoot a technical foul related to that play, as the game has moved into the next quarter.

This also emphasizes the importance of distinguishing between different types of fouls and their implications on game flow, which is a core element of basketball officiating. Understanding this aspect helps officials maintain the integrity of game timing and ensures that all teams are consistently held to the same standards of rule enforcement.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy