Is it correct for the official to rule A-2's common foul as a team control foul while A-1 is in control?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a player is in control of the ball, any foul committed by a teammate is considered a team control foul. In this scenario, A-1 has possession of the ball, and A-2 commits a foul. Since the foul occurs while A-1 is in control, it is classified correctly as a team control foul.

The implications of ruling it as a team control foul are important in basketball officiating because such fouls do not result in free throws for the opposing team. Instead, the offensive team simply loses possession of the ball. This rule helps maintain the flow of the game and underscores the concept of team control in basketball.

The nuances of fouls and the conditions under which they are ruled highlight the importance of understanding player control and team dynamics in officiating. In this case, ruling A-2's action as a team control foul accurately reflects the game's rules.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy