Is it correct for an official to call a throw-in violation if A-1 touches the ball near the division line?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In basketball, the throw-in procedure is governed by specific rules that dictate when a violation occurs. When A-1 touches the ball near the division line during a throw-in, it is not automatically considered a violation unless certain conditions are met.

In this situation, A-1 touching the ball near the division line does not constitute a violation. The player executing the throw-in has the right to touch the ball as part of the throw-in process. A violation would typically occur if the player violates the boundaries of the throw-in, such as stepping over the line or failing to pass the ball in-bounds within the allowable time.

Therefore, the correct response is that it is not a violation simply for A-1 to touch the ball in that scenario. Touching the ball near the division line during a throw-in does not automatically imply an infringement unless additional circumstances indicate otherwise.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy