In the case of a team control foul, does the official have the discretion to stop the game for a player injury?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the situation of a team control foul, the official indeed has the discretion to stop the game for a player injury. The rules emphasize the safety of all players on the court, and officials are trained to recognize when a player may be injured and in need of immediate attention.

Stopping the game for an injury is a critical aspect of an official's responsibility, as it ensures that players receive the necessary attention while also maintaining the integrity of the game. Regardless of the specific in-game circumstances, including whether a foul was called, the welfare of the players is paramount. Therefore, it is within the official's authority to halt the game if they observe that a player is hurt, which aligns with the protocols set forth for ensuring player safety.

This discretion is not limited by the significance of the injury, such as distinguishing between serious and less serious injuries, nor is it restricted to specific times during the game, such as the final moments of play. This flexibility allows officials to act appropriately based on the situation, prioritizing player safety over game flow.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy