If the scorer adds No. 15 to the scorebook after they have been beckoned into the game, is it correct for the official to assess a technical foul to Team A?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In basketball officiating, particularly in the context of the IAABO guidelines, it is important to adhere to the rules regarding player participation. When a player is called to enter the game, they must be properly documented in the scorebook prior to their participation. If the scorer mistakenly adds a player’s number to the scorebook after they have already been beckoned into the game, this constitutes an infraction under the rules.

Assessing a technical foul in such a situation serves as a deterrent against procedural errors and helps maintain the integrity of the game. This penalty reinforces the requirement that all players must be officially recognized before entering, ensuring that the game operates smoothly and within the established framework of the rules. The timing of the addition to the scorebook is crucial; if an error is recognized after the player is already in the game, the team is penalized appropriately. Hence, the correct decision involves issuing a technical foul to Team A in this scenario. This illustrates the importance of proper scorekeeping and following game protocols.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy