If the official charges A-2 and B-2 with a double personal foul while team A is in control, should the ball return to team A?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the situation where officials assess a double personal foul between players A-2 and B-2 while team A is in control of the ball, team A retains possession of the ball. This principle is grounded in the basketball rules governing double personal fouls, which state that when two players commit fouls simultaneously, these do not affect the team control status.

Team A was in control of the ball prior to the fouls, and unless there are further stipulations (which this scenario doesn't include), control remains with team A. The rules dictate that following a double personal foul, the game should resume with the team that had prior possession (in this case, team A) because there is no change in possession resulting from the fouls.

Other options suggest conditions that would impact possession or imply that team B could gain possession, but none of these apply in this situation as the basic rule of maintaining possession post-double foul is clear and straightforward.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy