If Team A's coach is charged with an unsporting technical foul, should this be counted towards team fouls for the bonus?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a coach is charged with an unsporting technical foul, it is considered a direct violation that affects the game in the same way as personal fouls committed by players. According to the rules governing fouls in basketball, technical fouls are indeed counted toward the team foul total. Once a team reaches a specific number of team fouls, the opposing team is awarded a bonus free throw opportunity.

Understanding this, it is important to recognize that while technical fouls can be distinctly categorized from personal fouls, they still influence the bonus situation by contributing to the team foul count. Therefore, each unsporting technical foul charged to a coach or player does count towards the accumulation of team fouls for the bonus. This rule helps maintain discipline and sportsmanship within the game, reflecting the significance of the coach's behavior alongside player conduct.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy