If team A is in the bonus and the official erroneously awards the ball out of bounds, is the official correct to then award A-1 a one-and-one free throw?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The correct response to the question revolves around the understanding of the bonus situation and the requirements of free throw awarding in basketball. When team A is in the bonus, it means they have reached a threshold of team fouls, allowing them to be awarded free throws for certain fouls committed by team B, regardless of whom the ball is awarded to.

In this scenario, if an official incorrectly awards the ball out of bounds when team A is in the bonus, they can still award A-1 a one-and-one free throw. The reasoning is that the bonus status is independent of the specific circumstances of possession at that moment. The primary goal of awarding free throws is to ensure that a team benefiting from the bonus has the opportunity to capitalize on that advantage, even if an error occurs regarding the possession call.

It is essential for officials to rectify errors and maintain the integrity of the game, and since team A is in the bonus, the application of the free throw rule should prevail.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy