If B-1 intercepts A-1's pass and lands in the backcourt, did the official rule correctly by allowing the play?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The official ruled correctly by allowing the play when B-1 intercepted A-1's pass and landed in the backcourt because this situation adheres to the rules governing ball possession and court location.

When A-1 throws a pass that is intercepted by B-1, the key factor is where B-1 lands. In basketball, when a player from the defensive team (B-1 in this case) gains control of the ball while it's in the air, no violation occurs as long as the player does not violate any rules upon landing. Since B-1 landed in the backcourt after the interception, it is not a violation of the rules. The only scenario where this might be considered an issue would be if A-1 committed a traveling violation before making the pass, which is not a factor in confirming the legality of B-1’s action.

Thus, because B-1’s actions after the interception are legitimate and do not incur any violations, the official’s ruling to allow the play stands correct. This response aligns with basketball rules that govern player actions following interceptions and ball placements on the court.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy