If B-1 commits a fifth foul and A-6 and A-7 report to enter but are denied, is the official's decision correct?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the situation where B-1 commits a fifth foul, that player must leave the game as per basketball rules regarding personal fouls. When A-6 and A-7 report to enter for A-1 and A-2, they must be allowed to enter the game. The rationale is rooted in the principle of equitable play; when a player is disqualified due to fouls, their team is entitled to replace them, ensuring that play continues with the same number of players for both teams. Denying the substitutions goes against standard procedure, which ensures that teams can field a complete roster when a player must leave due to foul limitations.

This rule is designed to maintain fairness in the game and uphold the flow of play, making it imperative for officials to permit substitution in this context. Therefore, the official's decision in this scenario would be deemed incorrect if substitutions were denied.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy