If an alternating possession throw-in is intentionally kicked by B-1, should the official award the ball back to Team A and continue with the alternating possession?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The correct answer explains that when an alternating possession throw-in is intentionally kicked by B-1, the play is considered a dead ball. According to basketball rules, an intentional kick during a throw-in is a violation that halts the game. The ball is no longer in play, which means the official must stop the action and does not allow the possession to continue as initially planned.

In this scenario, Team A, who had the alternating possession, would not be awarded the ball back. Instead, following the rules, the referee will reset the situation after the violation and address the ball's status appropriately. This ensures that the integrity of the game and the established rules are upheld.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy