If a referee mistakenly awards the ball to the wrong team for a throw-in, when can the error be corrected?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The correct answer is that the error can be corrected only before the throw-in is completed. In basketball officiating, the rules are designed to maintain the fluidity of the game while ensuring fairness. When a referee makes a mistake in awarding the ball for a throw-in, it is essential to address and correct that error swiftly to prevent any potential disadvantage to either team.

Once the throw-in has been completed, it initiates the next phase of play, and the opportunity to rectify the mistake is lost. At that point, the game continues based on the outcome of the throw-in, making it impossible to revert to the earlier situation. Being able to correct such errors before the throw-in is completed allows officials to uphold the integrity of the game and keep the flow of play consistent, without retroactively affecting the current status. This priority on timely corrections highlights the importance of quick decision-making by referees in the dynamic environment of a basketball game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy