If a player is fouled with the 7th team foul of the half and receives an erroneous call for two free throws, what is the correct response if a shot is made after the first missed free throw?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a player is fouled and it results in the team's seventh foul of the half, that typically means they are in a bonus situation where the player is entitled to a free throw opportunity. If an erroneous call leads to awarding two free throws instead of the proper penalty, the situation becomes somewhat complex, especially if a subsequent shot is made after the first missed free throw.

In this context, if a shot is made after the first missed free throw, it's essential to revert to the correct application of the rules. Awarding two free throws for a foul means that upon the completion of the first shot—whether it was missed or not—the game should recognize that this scenario does not permit the subsequent basket to count. Therefore, the correct action is to cancel the score from the made shot because the fouled player was improperly awarded two attempts instead of one free throw.

The proper response involves recognizing the mistake in the call and also managing the consequence it has on the game. The correct choice of using alternating possession indicates that the game must adequately address the situation and reset rather than simply allowing the erroneous points to count or rewarding another attempt at the free throw, which would conflict with the nature of the penalty in this case. This ensures that the game remains fair and

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy