If A-6 replaces A-5 during a throw-in and a foul occurs before the clock starts, is it correct to beckon A-5 back into the game?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The scenario describes a situation where A-6 replaces A-5 during a throw-in, and a foul occurs before the game clock starts. In such cases, the rules allow for a procedure known as "substitution during the dead ball." Since the foul occurred before the game clock started, the play is still treated as a dead ball situation, and players can be substituted in or out without penalty.

If A-5 was substituted out legally, they cannot simply be beckoned back into the game once a foul occurs, especially if A-6 is currently in the game. This maintains the integrity of the substitution process and ensures that both teams are abiding by the regulations set forth in the game rules. Thus, once A-6 enters for A-5, A-5 cannot re-enter just because a foul occurs, as A-6 has replaced them in the lineup.

This understanding is vital in officiating, as incorrect handling of player substitutions can lead to confusion and disrupt the game flow. The rules emphasize maintaining an organized substitute process, and allowing A-5 back into the game would violate that protocol.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy