If A-2 pushes B-3 after A-1's successful shot, should B-3 be required to shoot free throws?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In this scenario, the key focus is on the nature of the foul and what type of violation it is considered within the context of the game. A push by A-2 on B-3 after A-1's successful shot occurs during a dead ball situation since the play has already concluded with the successful basket. In such cases, the player who is fouled is not required to shoot free throws automatically.

A technical foul has specific protocols, and it can be assessed based on the actions that transpire after the whistle has blown for a dead ball. The coach has the discretion to choose a player to attempt the free throws resulting from a technical foul. This rule allows for flexibility in strategy, as the coach can select the player they believe is most capable of successfully making the free throws.

Hence, in this situation, since A-2's action comes after the conclusion of a successful shot, the foul would not lead to automatic free throws for B-3 but instead could result in a technical foul being imposed on A-2, from which any player designated by the coach can shoot free throws. The nuance of the timing of the foul in relation to the game's ongoing play is what specifically justifies this interpretation.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy