If A-2 fouls B-2 after A-1's try is in the air and the shot is successful, what is the ruling regarding the throw-in?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In this situation, when A-2 fouls B-2 after A-1's try is in the air and the shot is successful, the correct ruling is that Team B retains the privilege of moving along the end line for the throw-in. This is a specific rule in basketball that occurs when a foul is committed by the defensive team after a successful field goal attempt by the offensive team.

Since the shot was successful, the game continues, and Team B is given the opportunity to in-bound the ball at any spot along the end line. This means they can choose a location to throw the ball in, offering them a strategic advantage as they can move to an optimal position for the resumption of play. The ability to move along the end line allows Team B to potentially set up for an advantageous play, rather than being restricted to a specific spot or being unable to move.

Other options do not align with the established rules governing throw-ins following a foul committed after a successful shot.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy