If A-2 bats the ball to the floor after a poor pass from A-1 and then starts dribbling, is it correct for the official to call this a double dribble?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When A-2 bats the ball to the floor after a pass and subsequently begins to dribble, this situation does not constitute a double dribble. According to basketball rules, a player is only prohibited from dribbling a second time after having already dribbled the ball, paused, and then resumed dribbling. In this case, because A-2 did not dribble after receiving the pass but instead batted the ball, which constitutes a mere act of playing the ball rather than completing a dribble, the act of dribbling that follows is permissible.

This allowance exists because the initial action of batting the ball is not classified as the player "dribbling." Therefore, A-2 is still within their rights to begin dribbling after this maneuver without penalty. Understanding this rule helps clarify many situations that occur during a game, as batters—whether intentional or incidental—do not trigger the double dribble violation as long as they do not already have established control through a dribble before that action.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy