If A-1's throw-in is touched by B-1 who is standing on the boundary line, did the official rule it a throw-in violation?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In this scenario, the official would rule that it was not a throw-in violation. According to basketball rules, a player who is attempting a throw-in must release the ball from the designated spot, and it remains in play once it is legally touched by a player on the court. If B-1, while standing on the boundary line, touches the ball after A-1 has released it for the throw-in, it is considered a legal play. The key aspect is that the throw-in must be completed without any violation occurring at that moment.

If B-1 had touched the ball before A-1 completed the throw-in, or if the throw-in was taken from an incorrect location, then there might have been a violation. However, simply touching the ball while standing on the boundary line does not automatically constitute a violation. This understanding helps clarify how and when a throw-in violation can be called during a game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy