If A-1 scores at the wrong basket and is fouled before releasing the ball, what happens to the scoring?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When A-1 scores at the wrong basket and is fouled before releasing the ball, the governing rules of basketball dictate that none of the points count. This is primarily because the score is invalidated due to the fact that it is made at the incorrect basket, which is not considered a valid scoring attempt.

In this scenario, the foul that occurred is also important; however, since the goal does not count due to the wrong basket, the standard procedure following such an incident is to reset the game. Instead of counting points or awarding free throw attempts, the team that was fouled would gain possession through a throw-in. This procedure aims to maintain the integrity of the game and ensures that scoring can only occur through valid means and at the correct basket.

This understanding highlights the significance of adhering to the correct scoring rules and the consequences of making a basket at the wrong net, ultimately leading to a throw-in for the non-offending team rather than rewarding free throws or counting invalid scoring attempts.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy